Birthday Book Post: Today’s New Releases!

Hey everyone!

So I don’t usually do release date posts, but in celebration of my birthday (eek the big 2-3 today) I thought I’d share some of the books that were published today. Kind of like books that share my birthday 😉 If you know of any others (past or present) let me know! I’ll add them to the list 🙂

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Amazon, Barnes & Noble, IndieBound, GoodReads

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor 

via GoodReads:

Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend’s life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn’t sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia’s crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Bright Before Sunrise by Tiffany Schmidt Amazon, Barnes and Noble, IndieBound, GoodReads

Bright Before Sunrise by Tiffany Schmidt

via GoodReads:

When Jonah is forced to move from Hamilton to Cross Pointe for the second half of his senior year, “miserable” doesn’t even begin to cover it. He feels like the doggy-bag from his mother’s first marriage and everything else about her new life—with a new husband, new home and a new baby—is an upgrade. The people at Cross Pointe High School are pretentious and privileged—and worst of all is Brighton Waterford, the embodiment of all things superficial and popular. Jonah’s girlfriend, Carly, is his last tie to what feels real… until she breaks up with him.

For Brighton, every day is a gauntlet of demands and expectations. Since her father died, she’s relied on one coping method: smile big and pretend to be fine. It may have kept her family together, but she has no clue how to handle how she’s really feeling. Today is the anniversary of his death and cracks are beginning to show. The last thing she needs is the new kid telling her how much he dislikes her for no reason she can understand. She’s determined to change his mind, and when they’re stuck together for the night, she finally gets her chance.

Jonah hates her at 3p.m., but how will he feel at 3 a.m.?

One night can change how you see the world. One night can change how you see yourself.

Insanity by Susan VaughtAmazon, Barnes and Noble, IndieBound, GoodReads

Insanity by Susan Vaught

via GoodReads:

Never, Kentucky is not your average scenic small town. It is a crossways, a place where the dead and the living can find no peace. Not that Forest, an 18-year-old foster kid who works the graveyard shift at Lincoln Hospital, knew this when she applied for the job. Lincoln is a huge state mental institution, a good place for Forest to make some money to pay for college. But along with hundreds of very unstable patients, it also has underground tunnels, bell towers that ring unexpectedly, and a closet that holds more than just donated clothing….When the dead husband of one of Forest’s patients makes an appearance late one night, seemingly accompanied by an agent of the Devil, Forest loses all sense of reality and all sense of time. Terrified, she knows she has a part to play, and when she does so, she finds a heritage that she never expected.

With her deep knowledge of mental illness and mental institutions, Susan Vaught brings readers a fascinating and completely creepy new book intertwining the stories of three young people who find themselves haunted beyond imagining in the depths of Lincoln Hospital.

Have a great day everyone! Has anyone read any of these new releases yet or plan to? Let me know! 🙂

As Always,

Happy Reading!

xo,

NicoleLynn

6 comments
0 likes
Prev post: #LoveAThon Mini Challenge #5: Letter to Yourself!Next post: Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott Book Review

Related posts

Comments

  • Jen

    19 February 2014 at 10:52 am
    Reply

    Aww, happy birthday! I really liked BBS. Perfect Lies by Kiersten White was released yesterday, too!

    • NicoleLynn
      to Jen

      24 February 2014 at 11:55 pm
      Reply

      Thank you so much! BBS is on my TBR. Tiffany was actually at my local book store for a release party, but I couldn't go […] Read MoreThank you so much! BBS is on my TBR. Tiffany was actually at my local book store for a release party, but I couldn't go because I had work. I was super bummed lol but I'm hoping to read it sometime this year. Read Less

  • Fida I

    18 February 2014 at 12:02 pm
    Reply

    Thanks for doing this, I'm excited for Maybe One Day and Bright Before Sunrise. I'm also excited for Elevated by Elana Johnson, which came out […] Read MoreThanks for doing this, I'm excited for Maybe One Day and Bright Before Sunrise. I'm also excited for Elevated by Elana Johnson, which came out today too! I can't help but mention my own poetry collection, HER OLIVES, came out today :D Such a good day and happy to among such great books. Read Less

    • NicoleLynn
      to Fida I

      24 February 2014 at 11:53 pm
      Reply

      Congratulations! I'll definitely add your poetry collection to the post!

  • Emily @ Oh Magic Hour

    18 February 2014 at 11:20 am
    Reply

    I keep meaning to start the Mind Games series by Kiersten White - the sequel, Perfect Lies, also came out today. Happy birthday!!

    • NicoleLynn
      to Emily @ Oh Magic Hour

      24 February 2014 at 11:52 pm
      Reply

      Thanks for letting me know I'll add it to the post! Also I know I've had that book on my TBR for a bit too! […] Read MoreThanks for letting me know I'll add it to the post! Also I know I've had that book on my TBR for a bit too! My pile just keeps getting bigger lol it's hard to keep yup! Read Less

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress spam blocked by CleanTalk.
About Me

Me holding up a copy of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Rock Star and smiling

Hello! NicoleLynn here 🙂 I am a twenty-something avid reader & lover of all things bookish. I enjoy both coffee & tea, a good slice of pie and cuddling with my kitty. I haunt libraries, cafés & bookstores 🙂 Then I write about all these things! ♥

Read More

 

Follow

Latest Posts
Archives



web
counter