Waiting on Wednesday (17): Upcoming October Releases!

Hello lovelies!

So I’ve been terribly MIA this month. Things have just been really crazy as I’m balancing my 18-hrs a week internship, with my 6-hours a week of classes and my part-time job on the weekends. My only day off is Sunday and I’ve been dragging my feet about blogging that day since I’m usually wrapped up in school work or sleeping haha. But I’m hoping to catch up now that I’m sort of in a routine of things (though I’m sure that will change quickly!).

So with that all said, below is my WoW for the week! But since I missed the last two weeks I’m featuring three books this time 😉

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can highlight upcoming releases that you are eagerly anticipating!

 


24909346

Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Publication: October 18, 2016
Places: Amazon | B&N | BookDepository | GoodReads | IndieBound
CAUTION! SPOILERS IF YOU HAVEN’T READ ILLUMINAE!!!! 
GoodReads Synopsis:Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.

Why I’m Waiting: Because Illuminae was one of my top 5 reads of the year! I loved the first book and have been eagerly waiting to get my hand on book 2 and devour it!! Also I really love the style that Kaufman & Kristoff chose to write these stories in & I enjoy the SciFi genre which I don’t get a chance to read as much of. So needless to say, I’ll be buying this the day it releases!


 

29093326What Light by Jay Asher
Publication: October 11, 2016
Places: 
 Amazon | B&N | BookDepository | GoodReads | IndieBound 
GoodReads Synopsis:
Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other.

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.

What Light is a love story that’s moving and life-affirming and completely unforgettable.

Why I’m Waiting: I feel like this would be a great story to read around Christmas time. Usually I load myself up with romance stories set during Christmas and binge read them around the holiday. I think this one will fit in perfectly with those plans! Also I’ve read Jay Asher before and enjoyed his writing style. I’m interested in seeing if this story will be just as well written and enjoyable!


 


28588098
Beast by Brie Spangler
Publication: October 11, 2016
Places: 
Amazon | B&N | BookDepository | GoodReads | IndieBound
GoodReads Synopsis:A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching novel that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan.

Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn’t look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg—and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers.

Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy—until he meets Jamie. She’s funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She’s also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie’s humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn’t know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn’t listening. Something that shouldn’t change a thing. She is who she’s always been—an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?

Why I’m Waiting: This story sounds so great! I love the themes of finding identity and self-love that are coming through in the synopsis! It will also be great to read another story no only about mental health but also a story featuring a transgender character. I’m interested to see how this novel plays out and how the author portrays these two elements: mental health and writing/developing a transgender character.


Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 9.03.35 PM

What are you waiting on this week? Do you have any of these titles added to your TBR? Let me know in the comments below! I’d love to hear from you!

Happy Reading!

signature 3

*Disclaimer: None of my links on this post or on this blog are affiliate links. If I ever begin to participate in affiliate links, I will let you know. 🙂

Follow Me: GoodReads | Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Facebook | YouTube

 

8 comments
0 likes
Prev post: Release Day Launch: Race the Darkness by Abbie RoadsNext post: The Sunday Post (2): A PCB Books Weekly Digest

Related posts

Comments

  • […] Waiting on Wednesday (17): Upcoming October Releases! | Catching up on my WOW posts with three October releases I can’t wait to have! […]

  • allenstephanie27

    6 October 2016 at 4:21 pm
    Reply

    Gemina sounds like it's going to be amazing!! I can't wait, I agree with you on Illuminae being one of my favorite reads this […] Read MoreGemina sounds like it's going to be amazing!! I can't wait, I agree with you on Illuminae being one of my favorite reads this year too. :) Read Less

  • Ceillie Simkiss

    5 October 2016 at 4:55 pm
    Reply

    Okay, but Iron Cast needs to be on this list, Nicole. You're gonna love it so much!

    • NicoleLynn
      to Ceillie Simkiss

      5 October 2016 at 6:35 pm
      Reply

      Haha I know I know! I have it on my radar no worries! I actually included in my anticipated diverse reads for Fall a few […] Read MoreHaha I know I know! I have it on my radar no worries! I actually included in my anticipated diverse reads for Fall a few weeks back. But I am excited for it and I'm glad you think I'll love it cause that makes me want to read it even more!! 😊 Read Less

    • Ceillie Simkiss
      to NicoleLynn

      5 October 2016 at 6:36 pm
      Reply

      My review comes out on Monday I loved it soooo much. It was fabulous!!

    • NicoleLynn
      to Ceillie Simkiss

      5 October 2016 at 6:37 pm
      Reply

      Oooooo I'm looking forward to reading your review!!! 😁

  • La La in the Library

    5 October 2016 at 11:43 am
    Reply

    The cover for Beast is stellar. Thanks for featuring it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress spam blocked by CleanTalk.
About Me

Me holding up a copy of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Rock Star and smiling

Hello! NicoleLynn here 🙂 I am a twenty-something avid reader & lover of all things bookish. I enjoy both coffee & tea, a good slice of pie and cuddling with my kitty. I haunt libraries, cafés & bookstores 🙂 Then I write about all these things! ♥

Read More

 

Follow

Latest Posts
Archives



web
counter