Lois Lane and the Friendship Challenge by Grace Ellis: A Book Review

Hello Book Lovers!

Today I have a fun, light-hearted graphic novel for you in the DC universe! Thank you to NetGalley and DC Entertainment for the chance to read this graphic novel early in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and are not influenced by outside influences.

This graphic novel is out next week on August 11.

Lois Lane and the Friendship Challenge by Grace Ellis: A Book ReviewLois Lane and the Friendship Challenge by Grace Ellis, Brittney L Williams
Published by DC Comics on 11 August 2020
Genres: MG Graphic Novels
Pages: 160
Format: ARC eBook
Source: NetGalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Synopsis: From New York Times bestselling author Grace Ellis (Lumberjanes) and artist Brittney Williams (Goldie Vance) comes a new story about 13-year-old Lois Lane as she navigates the confusing worlds of social media and friendship.

It’s the first day of summer break in the sleepy town of Liberty View, and young Lois Lane bursts onto the scene with what she knows is a sure-to-go-viral video channel. Okay, maybe her platform only receives two views a week (thanks, Mom), and maybe her best friend, Kristen, isn’t quite as enthusiastic about social media, but when Lois sets her mind on something, there’s no turning back.

At the end of the week, the big neighborhood barbecue and bike race will be the perfect backdrop to Lois and Kristen’s #friendshipchallenge video. But when the girls find out the annual fireworks are missing, Lois doubles down on her efforts for fame, testing her friendship in ways she couldn’t imagine.

With Kristen leaving for sleepaway camp after the barbeque and a new girl on the block taking all of Kristen’s attention, will Lois be able to find the missing fireworks, celebrate the summer, and post the best #friendshipchallenge the internet has ever seen? Or will she have to face her challenges IRL?

my review

This graphic novel was straight up fun for me! I loved the illustrations which were bright and colorful and the the characters really seemed to jump off the page. Lois Lane had a bunch of energy and her friend Kristen had a great personality, too. I enjoyed seeing how they interacted throughout the story, including with the new girl. Ellis did such a good job capturing the unique personalities of each of these characters, especially Lois Lane.

I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about the modernization of the storyline – Lois Lane’s wish for creating a viral video with her friend Kristen — but I think it worked really well & will appeal to young readers of right now. Ellis has successfully captured the changes and anxieties of friendships during that age & I again think that younger readers will relate to these feelings and this storyline.

Outside of the strong friendship themed storyline, Ellis also dropped in a small mystery for the friends to solve. It was an easily plotted mystery and did a good job of connecting Lois Lane to her soon-to-be future interest in journalism. I think fans of Lois Lane who have background knowledge of her character within the DC universe will connect these dots sooner than other readers, but overall I think this story was a fun way of showcasing how Lois Lane began an interest in journalism. Like I said above, I was hesitant about the modern twist to her background, but think it was pulled off really well & I’m satisfied with how it played out in the end.

Overall, this was a fun, fast-paced read that would be perfect for fans of Smile or Roller Girl. Also, what I found great about this graphic novel & story was that you didn’t have to be a fan of or know much about the DC universe / Superman to enjoy this story. Filled with mystery & friendship, Lois Lane and the Friendship Challenge is the perfect read for graphic novel fans & reluctant readers! I hope to see more of this Lois Lane in this particular modern universe from Ellis & DC. Definitely pick this up if you love mystery, friendship & graphic novels!

Let's Chat

Have you read this graphic novel? Are you a fan of Lois Lane or the DC universe? Let me know all your thoughts below!

Happy Reading!

Connect with Me: INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | YOUTUBE | GOODREADS

0 comments
0 likes
Prev post: Closer to Nowhere by Ellen Hopkins: A Book ReviewNext post: Displacement by Kiku Hughes: A Book Review

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Me

Me holding up a copy of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Rock Star and smiling

Hello! NicoleLynn here! I’m a twenty-something avid reader & lover of all things bookish! I enjoy both coffee & tea, a good slice of pie and cuddling with my kitty. I haunt libraries, cafés & bookstores 🙂 Then I write about all these things! ♥

Read More

Follow

Popular Posts
Archives
Badges
Professional Reader



web
counter